Alphabet Challenge

I had never heard of a reading challenge until the end of last year.  I felt like I was in a reading rut, so I decided participating in a challenge might be a good way to get past that.  The Alphabet Challenge was the first one I decided to do.  Now for those who don’t know this challenge is really simple and there a few different ways it can be done.  Some choose to read a different book title starting with each letter of the alphabet.  And still others will choose to do this by author (either first name or last name).  I decided to use book titles for my first challenge.  This is what I read this year to fulfill by alphabet challenge.

A – The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
B – The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
C – Change of Heart by Jodi Picoult
D – Destiny’s Dowry by Rosemary Gard
E – Evermore by Alyson Noel
F – Fablehaven by Brandon Mull
G – The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman
H – The Host by Stephenie Meyer
I – Inkheart by Cornelia Funke
J – Jewels of the Sun by Nora Roberts
K – Kissed by an Angel by Elizabeth Chandler
L – Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
M – Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
N – No Country For Old Men by Cormac McCarthy
O – Odd Hours by Dean Koontz
P – Pillars of the Earth by Kent Follet
Q – The Quincunx by Charles Palliser
R – Rasputin’s Daughter by Robert Alexander
S – The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk
T – The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Sutterfield
U – Uglies by Scott Westerfield
V – The Various Haunts of Men by Susan Hill
W – Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
X – The Xibalba Murders by Lyn Hamilton
Y – The Yellow Room Conspiracy by Peter Dickinson
Z – Zelda’s Cut By Phillippa Gregory

I was extremely lucky that I enjoyed most of these books.  But, I didn’t start this blog until I was probably more than half way through this challenge.  I would have to say my favorites were Memoirs of a Geisha, Secret Life of Bees, and Water for Elephants

Published in: on October 31, 2009 at 2:42 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pagese.wordpress.com/2009/10/31/alphabet-challenge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Your three favorites are some of my favorite books as well! I was so mesmerized by Memoirs of a Geisha. Secret Life of Bees is one that I read after my mom recommended it and seeing the movie made me love the book even more. And Water for Elephants was something unique. Great list!


Leave a Reply

